• +7 702 820 0400
  • info@sciencepark.kz
  • @unisatkz

О UNEPG

Образовательная программа по наноспутникам для девушек UniSat(UNEPG)

As the world’s first woman cosmonaut Valentina Tereshkova said, in an 2015 interview with Pallab Ghosh, BBC science correspondent, “On Earth, men and women are taking the same risks. Why shouldn't we be taking the same risks in space?”, one cannot underestimate the strength and the courage of women, especially on this day, when Valentina Tereshkova remains the only woman in the world who visited space alone, neither with assistants nor with companions.

Первой американской женщиной в космосе стала Салли Райд. Салли Райд установила сразу несколько рекордов. Она была первой американкой, побывавшей в космосе. И самым молодым астронавтом США: во время полета ей было 32 года.

В книге Линн Шерра, посвященной биографии первой-женщины астронавтки Салли Райд, первая астронавтка США отмечает: «Если нам нужны ученые и инженеры в будущем, мы должны культивировать столько девочек, сколько и мальчиков». В 2001 году Салли Райд учредила компанию Sally Ride Science для поддержки девочек и молодых женщин, которые хотели бы заниматься естественными науками, математикой и технологиями. В компании разрабатывали специальные научные программы для детей, а сама Райд писала научно‑публицистические книги, где доступно рассказывала о том, как интересно познавать мир науки и техники.

Первая женщина-космонавт
Валентина Терешкова

Сегодня международная организация UNICEF уделяет большое внимание гендерной политике среди молодежи и периодически выделяет специальные финансирования для поддержки STEM-образования девушек. Проект UniSat является первым совместным проектом Научно-технологического парка и организации UNICEF, целю которого является разработка образовательного курса по наноспутникам. Наноспутники – это класс малых космических аппаратов, масса которых не превышает 10 кг. Сегодня наноспутники разрабатываются во многих передовых университетах мира и коммерческих организациях.

Как результат, число запусков растет экспоненциальным образом, так если в 2010 году было запущено всего 19 наноспутников, то к 2020 году анонсирован запуск 449 наноспутников. Коммерческий рынок наноспутников в 2019 году достиг 1,8 млрд. долларов США, а к 2026 году ожидается, что мировой рынок нано- и микроспутников достигнет более 6,2 млрд. долларов.

Большой мировой интерес к освоению наноспутников кроется в особенности данной технологии. Во-первых, наноспутники имеют малые размеры и вес. Во-вторых, разработка и запуск наноспутников намного дешевле чем больших спутников. В-третьих, жизненный цикл создания наноспутника короткий – 1-2 года, тогда как на создание больших спутников занимает до 10 лет.

Первая женщина-астронавт
Салли Райд

В рамках проекта UniSat, 20 девушек из разных регионов Казахстана бесплатно пройдут курсы по созданию наноспутника. Курс будет охватывать такие важные этапы создания любого космического аппарата, как проектирование, дизайн, программирование, сборка, тестирование и запуск. Часть материала будет доступно в онлайн режиме на сайте проекта. Все основные уроки будут проводиться с непосредственным участием девушек. К концу проекта, девушками будут созданы 2 модели наноспутника UniSat для запуска в верхние слои атмосферы.

Проект UniSat призван не только для развития навыков и компетенций по разработке наноспутников, но и для развития гибких навыков (Soft Skills) у девушек, таких как работа в команде, публичное выступление, тайм-менеджмент, креативность и др.

Мы верим, что совместный проект Научно-технологического парка КазНУ и Юнисеф станет еще одним важным шагом развития STEM образования для девушек в Казахстане и станет примером для трансформации опыта в другие страны.

• +7 702 820 0400
  • info@sciencepark.kz
  • @unisatkz

About UNEPG

UniSat Nano-Satellite educational programme for girls (UNEPG)

As the world’s first woman cosmonaut Valentina Tereshkova said, in an 2015 interview with Pallab Ghosh, BBC science correspondent, “On Earth, men and women are taking the same risks. Why shouldn't we be taking the same risks in space?”, one cannot underestimate the strength and the courage of women, especially on this day, when Valentina Tereshkova remains the only woman in the world who visited space alone, neither with assistants nor with companions.

The first American woman in space was Sally Ryde. Sally Ryde set several records at once. She was the first American to visit space. And the youngest astronaut in the United States: during the flight she was 32 years old.

Lynn Sherr's biography of Sally Ride, the first American woman in space, noted: «If we want scientists and engineers in the future, we should be cultivating the girls as much as the boys». In 2001, Sally Ryde established “Sally Ride Science” to support girls and young women who would like to pursue science, math, and technology. The company developed special scientific programs for children, and Ryde herself wrote scientific and journalistic books, where she talked about how interesting it is to learn the world of science and technology.

World’s first woman cosmonaut
Valentina Tereshkova

Today, UNICEF is focusing more on youth gender policy and periodically providing special funding to support STEM education for girls. The UniSat project is the first joint project of the Science and Technology Park and the UNICEF organization, whose goal is to develop an educational course on nanosatellites. Nanosatellites are a class of small spacecraft whose weight does not exceed than 10 kg. Today, nanosatellites are being developed at many of the world's leading universities and commercial organizations.

As a result, the number of launches of nanosatellites is growing exponentially, while in 2010 there are only 19 nanosatellites were launched, however, by 2020 the number of announcements of nanosatellite launches increased to 449. The global commercial market for nanosatellites in 2019 reached $ 1.8 billion, and it is expected that by 2026 the market for nano- and microsatellites will reach more than $ 6.2 billion.

Several significant features of nanosatellite technology, attracted more and more global interest, firstly, nanosatellites are small in size and weight, secondly, the developing and launching of is much cheaper than larger satellites, last but not least, the life cycle for developing and producing nanosatellites usually takes only 1-2 years, while the larger ones can take up to 10 years.

First american woman in space
Sally Ride

With the UniSat project, 20 girls from different regions of Kazakhstan will take free courses to develop a nanosatellite. The course will cover important stages of any spacecraft's development , such as planning, designing, programming, assembling, testing, and launching. More detailed course material and resources will be available on the projects site. All major lessons will be held with the direct participation of girls, who will develop 2 UniSat nanosatellites to launch into the strotosphera by the end of the project.

The UniSat project aims not only to develop hard skills but also soft skills among the development of nano-satellites such as team work, communication, project management, time management, creativity etc.

We belive that, UNEPG, the joint project of UNICEF and Al-Farabi STP, will be next important step in Kazakhstan’s STEM education development for girls, and will become an great example for transformation of our experiences to other countries.